About Me

  • Gender Female
  • Age 42
  • Relationship Domestic Partners / Common Law

My Story 11 Appreciate this

I'm a rebellious hellion (my doc wishes that would change!) who believes in trying everything once. I travel, read, snowboard (when I can), I like to listen and help people, know about the latest research on MS and its treatments, miss the "east coast", and love reading, art & design, the NBA, big cities & roadtrips. I also believe that I can, and I if I fail, I'll try again. I can come across as aggressive, but I come from advertisingland and the east coast, which is how folks are. Not in-your-face aggressive, but willing-to-take-a-chance aggressive. Daring, shall we say. But that doesn't mean I don't know when to back off, either. I'm a Leo, so once you're my friend, you're stuck with me, and know that I've got your back ; )

My MS

Type of MS Relapsing-Remitting MS (RRMS)
First experienced symptoms1998
First Diagnosed 2001
Symptoms Fatigue, Numbness, Vision Problems, Pain, Cognitive Dysfunction, Depression, Spasticity, Swallowing Problems, Tremor, Itching, limb weakness/heaviness
Treatments Acupuncture, Aubagio, Copaxone, Corticosteroids (SoluMedrol, Deltasone), Gilenya, Rebif, Tysabri, Vitamin D, Yoga, CellCept (back when on Copaxone)

Interests

Living Well with MS Employment and education, Insurance and money matters, Healthcare
Getting Involved Walk MS, Volunteering
Research Research news
Hobbies and other intereststraveling, coffeeshops, sociology, typography, design, reading, NBA, soccer, photography, mentoring students, NYC, watching skateboarders sk8 , too many other geeked-out things to list. . . .

My Activity