About Me

  • Gender Female
  • Age N/A
  • Relationship Widowed

My Story 10 Appreciate this

I am a 68 year old woman who has lived with MS since I was 18 years old! It is almost hard for me to believe that I have lived with MS for 50 years. While living with MS, I have experienced many different stages of denial of the disease, embarrassment and frustration with my life having MS, and finally, acceptance of the fact that I live with MS and can help others living with the same disease by making friends and providing peer support. I have lived a great life while having MS! I hope that I will soon be able to live in a world free of MS. I believe that a cure will be discovered in my lifetime. I have definitely changed my perspective of MS throughout the years. While I used to avoid meeting anyone else with MS, I now look forward to lunches and conversations with my friends who also live with MS. Long ago, I decided to move forward with my education, my marriage, and my career. I basically tried to keep a positive attitude while living my life in denial. I studied, worked, got married, gave birth to two children, and basically did it all with MS. During that time, I did not want to talk about my MS or let it get in my way! Most of my life with MS was about normal living with a few breaks due to MS flares which were treated by steroid infusions. Disease Modifying Drugs provided hope while alternative treatments filled the gaps. Hence, I am living my most recent history with MS with the realization of the benefits of having friends with MS, talking on a regular basis to my friends with MS, going lunch with my MS friends, and basically living my life with friends who also share the challenges of living life with MS. I have learned a great deal from my friends with MS!

Interests

Living Well with MS Caregiver Support, Employment and education, Emotional support, Healthy living, Healthcare, Mobility and accessibility, Parenting, Relationships and intimacy
Getting Involved Advocacy, Volunteering
Research Research news
Hobbies and other interestsPairing, rug weaving,, exercise,music,TaiChi, adapted yogat yoga, exercise, knitting. Volunteering</p>

My Activity